|Tres Animales

This week I’ve seen two animal stories that I want to share. I’m also adding an older story to make it tres animales. Click the titles to jump to the complete stories.

1. The Girl Who Gets Gifts from Birds (Sewall, BBC, 25 Feb 2015). “Lots of people love the birds in their garden, but it’s rare for that affection to be reciprocated. One young girl in Seattle is luckier than most. She feeds the crows in her garden – and they bring her gifts in return.”

2. Amelia the Tropicat: A Swell Companion (Clark, The Cleanest Line, 26 Feb 2015). “Amelia was different. I’m not sure whether I found her or she found me that fateful afternoon in November 2013, but it felt fairly clear that we were meant to be together. She was a skinny little adolescent then—about six months old and hungry for food and love. Something about her commanding lioness air and carefree bravado made me want to give her both. I can’t estimate the innumerable forlorn cats and dogs I’ve longed to adopt over my many years of travel, but it never seemed fair to drag them into my nomadic, non-routine lifestyle. With my captain’s duties, I wasn’t sure I had time to care properly for a pet. I don’t exactly know what got into me that day; I only remember it being unbearable to leave without her. I called her Amelia, after the revered Miss Earhart, sensing right away that we shared a thirst for adventure.”

3. The Marmots and Me: The Schoolboy, 8, Who Has Struck up a Remarkable Friendship with a Colony of Alpine Animals (McDermott, Daily Mail, 26 Aug 2012). “They are notoriously shy around humans, beating their tails and chattering their teeth to try to warn us off before emitting loud whistles to tell other members of their colony to flee. But when these alpine marmots see Matteo Walch, they scuttle to his side and show him nothing but affection. The eight-year-old built up a remarkable relationship with the creatures since first being taken to see them by his nature-loving family four years ago.”

Leave a Reply

