More Knots, Fewer Devices

I was never in Boy Scouts, Pathfinders, or any other variant of a bushcraft/youth paramilitary organization. Ergo, I never learned knots. 

I’m lucky to have lived through a decade of rock climbing. We engaged in such poor rope use while climbing that I didn’t learn the figure-8 until after 10 years of sending; I finally had to learn it in order to climb at the local gym so I watched this video. So wrong. Wrong, wrong, wrong. Kids, don’t be like me. Learn your knots!

My tent guy lines look ridiculous. My tarp hanging concoctions are pathetic. My shoelace knots barely keep shoes on my feet. 20 years ago I bought these cheap plastic things that I’ve never gotten to work right. No more!

Tonight I learned three knots. The more you know, the less you need, says Yvon Chouinard, founder of Patagonia. Know these knots and leave those crappy plastic things at home.

Thanks, Andrew Skurka.

Tagged with:
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Archives
